

APPLICATION FOR FLORIDA DEATH RECORD

Florida Department of Health in Broward County

Vital Statistics Department 780 SW 24 Street, Ft. Lauderdale, FL 33315-2643

(954)-467-4413

PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT ALL INFORMATION

NAME OF DECEASED (Registrant)	TIKOT	MIDDE			L/AST			BLA	
SOCIAL SECURITY # (if known)		DATE OF DEA MONTH					KNOWN, SPEC EARS TO SEAF VAILABLE LO	CH	
FLORIDA	PLACE OF DEATH – CITY		COUNTY (REQUIRED)			DEATH FILE NUMBER (if known)			
NAME AND ADDRESS OF FUNERAL-HOME				ADDRESS (CITY)					
IMPORTANT INFORMATION									
Any person who willfully and knowingly provides any false information on a certificate, record or report required by Chapter 382, Florida Statutes, or on any application or affidavit, or who obtains confidential information from any Vital Record under false or fraudulent purposes, commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in Chapter 775, Florida Statutes.									
PLEASE READ ALL INFORMATION ON BACK BEFORE SUBMITTING APPLICATION									
APPLICANT'S NAME	FIRST	MIDDL	E		LAST		SUFFIX		
Funeral Director/Attorney as Applicant for Cause of Death Information	LICENSE NUMBER	FUNERA []	L HOME OF RECORD Yes [] No						
STATE RELATIONSHIP TO REGISTI	RANT SIGNATURE OF APPL	JICANT							
HOME PHONE NUMBER RESIDENCE STREET ADDRESS (AND APT.)									
()									
WORK PHONE NUMBER			STATE			ZIP CODE			
())								
CERTIFICATES AND FEES – Certificates available for Broward County deaths only									
Description					Cost Eac	Cost Each Quantity		otal Cost	
[] Certified Copy With Cause-of-Death (restrictions apply)					\$15.00				
[] Certified Copy Without Cause-of-Death (public record)					\$15.00				
[] Letters (contagious / non-contagious)					\$10.00				
[] Expedite Processing (3 to 5 business days to process – returned by first class mail)					\$10.00				
[] Overnight Processing (3 to 5 business days to process – returned by overnight delivery)					\$21.00				
Note: Expedite or Overnight Processing is for mail orders, and is per order (choose only one) TOTAL DUE: \$									
CREDIT CARD ORDERS ONLY - To be completed by credit card holder									
Type: [] Visa [] MasterCard [] AmEx [] Discover Card Number: Expiration:									
Full Name on Card:	First		Middle		Last		-		
Cardholder's Address: Street			City	City		State Zip			
Cardholder's Signature:									
OFFICIAL USE ONLY – To be completed by Florida Department of Health - Broward County staff									
Date:	Receipt			Docu	ment #:				
Driver's License #	,		Other:						
In Person Only		In Person	Only		In	Person Onl	V		

4105 Pembroke Road

Hollywood, FL 33021

205 NW 6th Avenue

Pompano Beach, FL 33060

2421-A SW 6th Avenue

Fort Lauderdale, FL 33315

INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR DEATH RECORD APPLICATION

AVAILABILITY: Death registration was not required by state law until 1917 however there are some records on file at the State Office of Vital Statistics dating back to 1877.

ELIGIBILITY:

WITHOUT CAUSE OF DEATH: Any person of legal age (18) may be issued a certified copy of a death record without the cause of death.

WITH CAUSE OF DEATH INFORMATION: Death records with the cause of death information may only be issued to the following individuals: 1) the decedent's spouse or parent; 2) to the decedent's child, grandchild or sibling, if of legal age; 3) to any person who provides a will, insurance policy or other document that demonstrates his or her interest in the estate of the decedent or 4) to any person who provides documentation that he or she is acting on behalf of any of the above named persons.

All requests for certification of a death certificate that includes the cause of death information, must include signature of the applicant, state his or her qualifying eligibility by providing documents showing relationship or a notarized Affidavit to Release Cause of Death Information (DOH Form # 1959), is available upon request. If after reading the above information you are still uncertain regarding your eligibility for cause of death information, call our office (954) 467-4413.

The funeral director associated with the funeral home listed on the death record, or attorney representing an eligible person listed above must include their signature, professional license number, and the name and relationship of the person you are representing. If you are a funeral director <u>not</u> associated with the funeral home listed on the death record, or an attorney not representing a person listed above as eligible to receive cause of death information, then a completed Affidavit to Release Cause of Death Information (DOH Form # 1959) must accompany this request.

Cause of death information on death records over 50 years old is available to anyone completing an application and submitting the required fee.

NOTE: Florida clerks of court will not accept a death record with cause of death information when filing probate.

INFORMATION NEEDED: A search cannot be made without the decedent's name and year of death. If any of the other items requested on the front of this form are unavailable, other identifying information (such as parents' names, birthplace, etc) may be helpful if multiple records are found for common names.

APPLICANT'S SIGNATURE: Applicant's signature is required, as well as his/her name, residence address and valid telephone number.

ACCEPTABLE FORMS OF IDENTIFICATION:

Driver's License, State Identification Card, Passport, and/or Military Identification.

PAYMENT: Cash, Credit Cards, Money Orders, Cashier's Checks or Bank Drafts; **Personal Checks** accepted only from Broward, Miami-Dade, and Palm Beach counties (name, address, and phone number must be imprinted on the check); **Official Business Checks** (business name, address, and phone number must be imprinted on the check). **Make payable to: Florida Department of Health in Broward County**

ADDRESS ON CHECK AND PHOTO IDENTIFICATION MUST BE THE SAME

MAIL ORDERS: Regular mail orders must include a self-addressed, stamped envelope, and take 10 to 14 business days to process. All mail orders must include a copy of an acceptable form of Identification. Do not send cash by mail.

Mail to: Florida Department of Health in Broward County

Vital Statistics Department,

780 S.W. 24th Street, Ft. Lauderdale, FL 33315-2643

PHONE or INTERNET ORDERS: Requires the use of a credit card. Requires Expedite and either Regular or Overnight Processing Must include a copy of an acceptable form of Identification; Phone: (866) 830-1906 or Internet http://broward.floridahealth.gov/.

Death certificates are available from 2009 to the present. Death certificates older than 2009 can be obtained from the State Office of Vital Statistics in Jacksonville at (904)359-6900 Ext. 9000.